Posted by: lanceandjenn | September 11, 2008

Top 5 Testimony Do’s and Don’ts

I have recently heard a bunch of different testimonies from people.  Sometimes I feel very blessed to hear about what God has done other times I’m disgusted to because of some of the things I hear.  I have decided to write this blog on Top 5 testimony do’s and don’ts

Do share your personal story of what has happened pre and post coming to faith

me sharing on a recent trip to the wilderness

me sharing on a recent trip to the wilderness

Don’t focus on how bad and horrible you were.  This includes going into details about how this one drug deal went down or how many men or women you slept with.  Saying you were bad and dealt with addictions or that you did not treat men or women with the respect they deserve is usually good enough.

Do include what Jesus meant to you at that moment or during that process of change.

Don’t use weird Christian lingo.  “I realized I needed the blood of the lamb” just doesn’t make sense to many people.  I recommend thinking through what you’re saying and talk it out with a friend if you have to.  Otherwise, people are going to be freaked out.

Do interact with people and seek clarification as you speak. 

Don’t take forever sharing your story.  It doesn’t take long before people stop paying attention to you/get really annoyed with the soundbite.

Do pray for the person.  Before, during, and after the interaction.

Don’t waste time getting into conversations about hypocrites or have to pull out your evidence that demand a verdict book.  Apologetics obviously has a place but I am not sure that your story is the place. 

Do personalize your message and seek an authentic exchange with the person you’re talking to. 

Don’t miss an opportunity to share with someone because of fear of what they’ll think of you.  Even though you may have been a horrible witness it doesn’t mean that you can apologize and tell the person that you are making a change. 

So that’s my Top 5.  What would you add or subtract?


Leave a comment

Categories